Advanced Search

LatinNews Daily - 12 August 2021

Click here for printer friendly version
Click here for full report

CAN migration statute comes into effect

* The Andean Community (CAN) regional trade bloc comprising Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, and Peru has announced that a new migration statute that approved in May has come into full effect. The new statute regulates the right of movement, residence, and employment of the nationals of the CAN member countries and for the first time allows them to freely visit, work, and live in any of the four countries. CAN secretary general, Jorge Hernando Pedraza, explained that this “historic decision” institutes visa-free tourism between member states, allows nationals to take up temporary residence of up to two years in other CAN countries, and facilitates processes for applying for permanent residency in another member state. In an interview, Pedraza described this statute as a “true action for human mobility” which will facilitate the “integration of Andean society”.