LatinNews Daily - 27 July 2022

In brief: Uruguay to seek adhesion to Trans-Pacific trade deal

* Uruguay’s President Luis Alberto Lacalle Pou, has announced his intention for Uruguay to join the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP). Inked in March 2018 in Chile, the CPTPP has been signed by 11 of the 12 countries that had negotiated the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) regional trade deal after the US opted to abandon it. In a speech given at an event organised by local export lobby, Unión de Exportadores del Uruguay (UEU), President Lacalle Pou said his administration is seeking to join the CPTPP as part of its efforts to “open up to the world”. Lacalle Pou stated he is backed by “the entire political system” in his pursuit of FTAs with other regional blocs. The CPTPP members are Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Peru, New Zealand, Singapore, and Vietnam.

End of preview - This article contains approximately 136 words.

Subscribers: Log in now to read the full article

Not a Subscriber?

Choose from one of the following options

Intelligence Research Ltd.
167-169 Great Portland Street,
5th floor,
London, W1W 5PF - UK
Phone : +44 (0) 203 695 2790
You may contact us via our online contact form
Copyright © 2022 Intelligence Research Ltd. All rights reserved.